Twigg Handicap


Held the 3rd Tuesday of June this is a free to enter club only race held at Holmebrook Valley Park. Race start time is 6.30pm with the slowest runners, based on a handicap time, going off first. The first runner back gets to take home the Twigg Trophy donated by former runner Barry Twigg back in 1993.


The race is followed by a post race buffet at the Olde House pub at Loundsley Green where the trophy presentation takes place.


The 2020 race is due to be held on Tuesday June 15th.

Link to view the course route -


19 Twigg Result.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 64.6 KB
18 Twigg Result.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 66.0 KB
17 Twigg Result.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 46.5 KB
Adobe Acrobat Document 66.4 KB
Adobe Acrobat Document 69.4 KB
Microsoft Excel Table 27.5 KB
Microsoft Excel Table 23.5 KB
Twigg Past Results
Microsoft Excel Table 86.0 KB

Twigg Handicap 2018



Joel Siddall was the 2018 Twigg winner finishing well clear of second placed Sam Passingham who just managed to hold off a fast finishing Matt Hemsley. The trophy was presented to Joel at the post race buffet at the Olde House by 2017 winner Laura Lever.


Joel's actual time over the 10k+ course was 39:14 but the quickest runner on the night was Richard Start who set off last but finished 6th with a course time of 35:40, short of Steve Leverton's all time record of 35:15 but posting the quickest time since the start/finish was moved to Holmebrook Valley Park from St Mary's School. The previous best from Holmebrook was 35:55 by Steve Penney in 2013.  Russ White was the third runner on the night to break 40 minutes with a time of 39:35.


Fliss Milner was the first female home in 8th place overall and a personal time of 52:08. Sue Beckett finished 10th overall, 24 seconds behind Fliss with Lynne Delaney crossing the finish line a further 28 seconds later for third female. Hannah Barnett was the quickest female in 47:38.  


A big thank you to Sue Brundrett and the team of marshals and helpers who did a brilliant job in organising a great event once again.  


TWIGG Handicap 2017


Pictured is our 2017 winner Laura Lever who you could say had a favourable handicap as she finished over 4 minutes ahead of 2nd placed Bev Priestly, who actually started off first. Maggie Gorman finished third, after that there was a steady trickle of runners snaking down Newbold Road and into Watermeadow Lane to the finish. 


John Sanderson started last but was easily the fastest man on the course with an actual time of 37:43, the only one to dip under 40 minutes.


Thanks to all the runners, we had a record 72 finishers, all the marshals and helpers and a special thanks to Sue Brundrett for all the work she put into the event.  CLICK HERE to see photos courtesy of Steve Kimberley.



Twigg Handicap 2014


Congratulations to trophy winner Ged Corkill, still some way off his best following an injury layoff but proved he is on the way back with a time of 45:30 on the 6.4km course.  Malc Gonnella was second just 9 seconds ahead of fast finishing Dan Halksworth in third.


For the second year running the quickest man on the course was Steve Penney in a time of 36:47 just 12 seconds ahead of Martin Dawson with Russ White third in 40:30.  Quickest woman was Sam Iliffe in 43:11 with Julie Renshaw second 47:33 and Lisa Pryor a further 12 seconds behind in third.


We had a record turnout on the night with 69 starters and 68 finishers, the unlucky runner was Alan Ashburner who pulled up injured.  Thanks to all who ran, marshalled or helped out.


Results can be downloaded below, they show two tables, the left one is runners in the order they finished and the right hand one is in order of quickest time to slowest time for the 6.4km distance.


Link to photos HERE.

Twigg Handicap 2013


Fantastic turnout at Holmebrook Valley Park for the 21st running of the annual handicap race with 66 finishers, a record beating the previous highest number of 53 in 2010. After all the handicaps had been unravelled it was Janette Robinson who was presented with the trophy at the post race buffet at the Olde House. Janette became only the 4th female winner in 21 years and her actual course time of 48:41 beat her last four 10k times. Runner up was Neil Smith who chased Janette all the way having set off with the same handicap and finished just 5 seconds adrift.

Third place went to Steve Penney who was the quickest around the 6.4 mile course with his actual time of 35:55 the quickest time for many years. We don't have records for the Twigg between 1998-2001 but the last recorded time to beat Steve was 1997 when Mark Ediker ran 35:34.